1(866)775-7006
Call Now! 1(866)775-7006

Read what people are saying
about Precision Garage Door

Precision Garage Door of Albuquerque
has received 13 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
Review:

Technician told me that nearly every part on my garage door opener was worn our and needed to be replaced. This was total BS - my garage door and opener are only three years old. I do not appreciate this type of selling unnecessary parts and service. One star is too many.
Kat Winski
A Response from: Craig

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I'm sorry you were not satisfied in your visit, we take this very seriously. In reviewing your 25-point inspection I can see that out of the 25 areas we inspect your technician identified three (3) areas of concern on your door – end bearings, center bearing, and rollers. It is also noted that your technician suggested that since you have a heavy-duty Level 3 door, and only three (3) years old, it should still be under warranty. He suggested that you first contact the company that installed the door to see if the worn parts were in fact covered under warranty. In regards to your opener/operator, you shared with the technician that you had attempted to get the operator working and when doing so the belt broke. Since the opener/operator was inoperable we were unable to conduct the inspection on the seven (7) areas on our 25-point inspection related to the opener/operator - other than of course the broken belt on the trolley. The technician explained to you that we do not fix this brand of opener and that he was not aware of other companies that did. The reason for this is that many times getting parts for economy model operators often cost more than buying the same model new. Under these circumstances, in order to offer you a solution that would get your garage functioning properly at the time of the visit, the technician offered to replace the unit with one we sell and install, which I understand was upsetting to you. I'm sorry we could not offer you a solution to your satisfaction and appreciate the chance to do business with you.

David Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Technician:
Review:

Very disappointed with my experience with Precision. I called in and told them exactly what was wrong and what I needed done, but they wouldn't give me a ballpark estimate without sending a tech over. They said the tech would have to evaluate the garage door and that only then could I get an estimate. I had already called several other places and gotten estimates with no issues. Against my better judgement I scheduled an appointment with Precision because they had same day service available and I figured it would be about the same cost as the other places I had gotten estimates from. The tech came over and was very friendly and I told him what the issue was and what I wanted done. The tech looked at it for 2 minutes and agreed with what needed to be done. He then quoted me well over 2X the price of the other quotes I'd received. I was totally shocked and thought he had made a mistake. I asked him to go over what all that price included and he took me through all of the items. Essentially they were tying to up-sell and replace everything (rollers, hinges, bearings, pulleys/cables, and spring). I then asked him for a quote if only the work that was actually needed (broken spring replacement) and he entered it into his tablet and the price was still almost 2X the cost of the other quotes I had gotten. I asked if there was any other cheaper options to be competitive with the other quotes I had gotten and unfortunately there weren't. At this point I said that I was not going to have the work done by Precision and the tech said he understood and that there would still be the service charge for the 10 minute visit. I asked if there was anything he could do to waive the fee since he didn't diagnose anything that I hadn't already told them was wrong and he said that unfortunately he could not do that. So, I paid the fee and got another company to come out and do the repair for much less despite having to pay the service fee to Precision. My advice is to do your research and get several quotes (as one should always do with anything).
Daniel Temer
A Response from: Erica

Thank you for letting us know of your experience. I'm sorry you were not happy with your service with us, but am glad your needs are taken care of Our Customer Service Representatives are not technicians and are not able to determine exact pricing based on each customers' individual descriptions of their issue which is why we quote the service fee upon scheduling the appointment. You agreed to a professional coming to your home for this inspection and estimate. In looking further into this appointment, I see that you have a Torquemaster system, in which case a "broken spring" requires the entire system to be replaced/converted to the much more reliable Torsion System which we provide. We do not carry or service Torquemaster as we do not believe they are a long-term solution. We proposed a lifetime warrantied solution for your door. We are here when you need us and always fix it right. I'm sorry this was not the answer you were looking for, but we appreciate the opportunity to serve your garage door needs.

Lorenzo Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Technician:
Review:

Technician came out, collected $80, and left. Said he couldn't repair the brand we had. But when we scheduled the visit, we told the person on the phone what brand we had. One would think she could have said something to us then...
Russ Baker
A Response from: Craig

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have looked into the matter and have on record that you called with the complaint of the door not working as well as stating that you had an Overhead model. On this call you were also made aware of the service fee for the Santa Fe area to drive to your location and inspect your door. Upon this inspection, the technician found that there was no power supplied to your opener (regardless of model). Our technicians come to each home with fully-stocked trucks to service almost any garage door need. Our service fee is competitively priced and allows us to offer quality service to our customers at the time of their need. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your experience. Should another issue arise, we will honor 15% off of your next repair visit. Thank you,

Ryan Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Technician:
Review:

Precision quoted me a price of $700 to replace a torsion spring. Went to a different door company and they quoted $270 to replace torsion spring with a different spring(not a torsion spring) and the door works great now. Why precision did not offer this option I do not know. I would not recommend precision to anyone since they didnt seem to care about the cost to their customer.
roger chavez
A Response from: Craig

Mr. Chavez refers above to "being quoted $270 to replace torsion spring with a different spring (not a torsion spring)". What Mr. Chavez is referring to is a Torquemaster system, the same system he had previously (not a torsion spring system) on his garage door. What Precision Door Service quoted Mr. Chavez was a Torquemaster Conversion, which includes all components required to convert from the Torquemaster System to a Torsion System (16' Torsion Bar, End Bearings with Brackets, Cable Drums, Cables, Two Springs, Center Bracket, Center Bearing, and 10 4" Rollers). Included in this Torquemaster Conversion is lifetime warranty on all parts and labor which is a very generous warranty - one not offered by any of Precision Door's competitors. The Torquemaster system Mr. Chavez purchased for $270 is a very inferior system with an extremely short life cycle rating. It is not uncommon for these systems to be replaced every 3-5 years, which can quickly turn from a perceived savings to a very real ongoing cost. Because these Torquemaster systems are so inferior, which is why they are offered at a lower price, I am aware of only one Garage Door company in the Albuquerque area who installs or replaces these systems, and there is good reason why most of us shy away from this product.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

I feel I was totally taken advantage of! Way too much money for what was done. Will not recommend.
Mary Batista
A Response from: Craig

Doing a complete overhaul on a garage door can be expensive. When we consider this is the most used entry and exit to our home we often want assurance that all will function correctly. After reviewing the results of the 25-point safety inspection with you, it was decided our technician should perform a complete overhaul based on the condition of your door. This Overhaul included two (2) high cycle springs, Center Bearing, Center Bracket, Left & Right End Brackets with Bearings, Left & Right Drums, Left & Right Torsion Cables, Set of 10 Rollers, Lube-n-Tune, and a Lifetime Guarantee on parts and labor. It is often the case that a complete overhaul makes the most sense as the door hardware has a tendency to wear out at the same rate of cycles (commonly 8,000-10,000 cycles). We can offer our lifetime guarantee based on the fact that Precision Door Service uses a much higher grade of product, often exceeding 60,000-80,000 cycles. It is important to me as the owner of this company that my customer's do not feel taken advantage. I have reviewed the 25-point safety inspection results and believe that the overhaul was the correct course of action by you the homeowner. You can also have peace of mind knowing that should you have any issues with your door in the future we will be here to take care of you based on your warranty.

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Product:
Springs
Review:

I feel as though I was taken advantage in February when I was charged $500 when it was obvious that the entire door would need to be replaced at some point in the near future. I wish I had been informed of the parts that were compromising the door at that time. Now I'm getting a new door including the hinges and rollers I paid for in February.
Cris Vaughan
A Response from: Craig

Kris, Our technician that was out to your house, both in February and again in October, was Rudy. I appreciate your feedback and concern that perhaps we could have identified additional issues in February. I have since reviewed both your February invoice and 25-point inspection, and feel that what we did identify in February Rudy recommended you repair and you did. Our inspection in February did not identify any issues other than those that we repaired – the Garage Door Operator trolley and the rollers. Unfortunately, there is no way in advance to know just when a Torsion Spring is going to break, which is why we were called out now in October. What we repaired in February, and your broken Torsion spring now in October, are two separate and different issues. It was not obvious to our technician, neither in February or now in October, that your door would need replacing. Our recommendation to you now in October is that replacing the main mechanics of your door (springs, bearings, & cables) is a more economical solution than a new door. The parts Rudy was recommending on your door would have come with a lifetime warranty versus a 1-3 year warranty with the new door you have purchased. I appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to respond, and trust that the new garage door you purchased has resolved your garage door issue. Craig Amundson, Owner

Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Review:

The service after the installation is terrible. I called and reported to the staff that the door won't close due to the sun ray hitting one of the safety sensor. Every afternoon when my husband gets home he has to struggle with getting the garage door closed. I called Precision and they said they will charge a service fee for the technician to come out to take a look. And that's not Rudy said when he installed the new springs and the new opener (cost to us is over $1,200 with tax). He said Precision will always stand behind the products and works. It proofs they're not.
Pamela Ho
A Response from: Craig

The sun in New Mexico is such a blessing and sometimes, in this case with safety eye sensors, can be a challenge. I agree that your door not closing is unacceptable which is why I made this issue a priority. After receiving this email, I called the customer and we have since been back out to their home twice to ensure the problem with their safety eye sensors was resolved. We were able to move the sensors back from the door opening and believe this will resolve the issues the sun was causing.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

I can't believe that my door is worse now before spending $180 installing a new rubber bottom strip on my door. My wife was told to call a concrete company to come out and sand the concrete level. It went from a 2" gap to 3 feet long. We are new here and have no idea what to do or who to call. Can anyone help, because Gary had no idea. Tami and Joe Ruth 407-402-0074
Tami Ruth
A Response from: Craig

Thank you for the feedback and for giving us an opportunity to come out and make things right. After receiving this feedback I personally drove out to the customer's home to make some needed adjustments to the springs, cables and opener settings to ensure a better seal along the garage floor. This job was a bit unique because we replaced the original weatherseal with a Rodent Guard weatherseal. The Rodent Guard weatherseal is very stiff and not easy to work with in situations where there is uneven concrete, but you are correct that it should not be worse after we have done our work. We were able to close this gap with the adjustments I made and the customer was much happier with the outcome than originally communicated. Thank you again for allowing us to come back out to your home and correcting this situation!

Gary Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Technician:
Review:

This service and the $50.00 were a scam!!! It was my complete understanding that the service was to "Tune" my garage door. That meant lubing it and doing any other maintenance that would be required. Instead you came out and told me(my wife) that the garage door needed to be greased/lubed. I already knew that, I didn't need to spend $50 to find out what I knew!!! And the idea that you'd charge me an additional $100 just to lube the dam garage door is a total scam. You may have gotten $50.00 out of me but guess how I'll pass on my experience to my neighbors.
alan pezaro
A Response from: Craig

Thank you for the feedback and for allowing me an opportunity to address your concern. The charge to which you are referring is our Service Call fee, which we assess in an effort to cover a portion of the cost for our technician's drive time, fuel, and overhead. Included in our Service Call we perform a very detailed 25-point inspection and review the inspection results with the customer. We perform this safety inspection each and every time we visit a customer's home in to assure we identify any and all issues before commencing work. Our charge for this Service Call is one of the lowest in the Albuquerque & Santa Fe area and we are the only company I am aware of that performs the 25-point inspection. I am sorry you felt this was an excessive charge and I will assure that our call center does a better job of explaining this charge to our customers who call.

Gary Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Technician:
Review:

I was not told that I would have to pay a service charge if I decided the estimate was too high. rip-off!!!
Allen Maestas
A Response from: Craig

I want to apologize for any confusion regarding your service call charge. Our call center is instructed to explain that the service fee is for our technician to drive out to the customer's home and perform a very detailed 25-point safety inspection, review this information with the customer, and then determine what, if any, work will be performed. We record each customer call for training purposes and I had an opportunity to listen to your call. I apologize that the call center did not explain that if you decided the estimate to repair was too high that you would still be required to pay the service call charge.

Gary Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Technician:
Review:

Your technician /service person came to my home and resolved nothing. They told my wife they didn't have the replacement spring to fix my garage door and that they would send and estimate for a new door.Never heard from them again...so I guess I am going to head over to Lowes or some operation like that and price doors. Thanks.
ruben porter
A Response from: Craig

This level of service you experienced is totally unacceptable and I can only apologize to you for how you were treated. We strive to offer the best possible experience and we obviously did not meet the mark with this call. At times we are required to obtain a part we do not have, or may have run out of on a busy day, but there is no excuse why we did not get back with you. Please accept my apology and know I will follow up with my entire team to reiterate my expectations as to how a customer will be taken care of.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

Was quoted a price that was almost three times the other three estimates we recieved. Was very disappointed and would never recommend this company.
Cindy & Michael Mueller
A Response from: Craig

Mr. Mueller, I am very sorry to hear this. I appreciate you taking the time over the phone to voice your concern. We stand behind the superior products we use in all overhauls in comparison to our competitors. There is also value in the certified technicians we promptly send out, along with our lifetime warranty which includes parts and labor. If your first concern is the up-front price and you do not see value in the extra service we offer, then we respect your decision and wish you the best.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

Our garage door spring broke and I found Precision online, looking at their reviews and that they were part of Angie's List I had them come. Rudy attempted to sell me a package which was 50% more than just replacing the springs. Come to find out these other parts, beyond the new springs were absolutely not needed. In fact, they were only 4-5 years old. He even wrote on our invoice the wheels and bearings were "completely shot". This was completely false. I also found from other friends that the price of their springs were twice as much as any other company in town. They were nice, on time, but don't trust them. Do more homework about pricing and what services you need prior to getting them to repair your garage.
Sara Robbins
A Response from: Craig

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. You sound like a person who does their homework and based on the information you found on our website and Angie’s list, you could see that we have had the good fortune to work with several of your Albuquerque neighbors and have continually provided top quality service. The mechanical parts of a door all have a similar life span (springs, bearings, wheels) and when one item fails it is likely the other items are not far behind (similar to brakes on a car). Our philosophy is not one of performing “bandaids” or using inferior parts. This is why our solution may, at times, be higher in price and why our trademark slogan is “We Fix Doors Right." In making sure our customers have all the information necessary for garage door maintenance, we often times offer our customers an option to purchase the overhaul and with the overhaul provide a lifetime warranty. No other company is able or willing to stand behind their work like we do. However, it always remains the customer’s decision as to what work we ultimately perform for them. Finally, our springs are rated at 30,000 - 60,000 cycles, while most of our competitor’s springs are rated at only 10,000 – 12,000. The price you paid for the springs was certainly not twice the price, installed, of your neighbors if they used a reputable garage door company that is associated with the International Door Association. Most customers based on this data will choose to go with a slightly higher priced spring, knowing that it will last 3-5 times longer than the ordinary springs. Plus,for any reason should it fail, we will come out at no additional expense and fix it. Thank you again for the opportunity to service your door and I trust this explanation helps you to know you why many of our customers will not again have to worry about whether their garage door will work when they need it!

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair